Aside

My son has a problem.

I don’t know if there are 12 step programs for this, or some type of support group… the first step is admitting you have a problem, and although he may not be at this point yet his mother certainly is. 

C. is completely and totally addicted to Minecraft.  Being just a silly mom, I did not realize the hold that Minecraft has over my son and the other kids at the sitters.  Actually, I still am not quite sure what Minecraft exactly IS, or how to play it, or even why you would want to.  All I see are a bunch of bricks.  But my MIL got C. a tablet for his birthday, specifically because he has become so enamored with this stupid game.  The game was downloaded and the heavens opened up and my son rejoiced; no more fighting with the other kids on who got to use the sitters phone to play the game!  The game in the palm of his hand at all times!  Life couldn’t get better!

The first night he had the game I gave C. a pass.  I remember getting new stuff as a kid (except in my case it was usually a new book) and just being so into it that I couldn’t do ANYTHING else, so I told C. that he could have this one free day to play the game until his brain oozed out of his ears.  He couldn’t tell me what a cool mom I was because he was too busy playing his game, but I knew he was really thinking that anyway.  I just thought we could set the limits after this one day, even foolishly thinking that he may get most of it out of his system and not want to play every second.  I’m a fool, I know.

So yesterday my husband brought C. home and the tablet had been delegated to a plastic bag. 

“Tell Mom what you did,” A* prompted C. grimly.

C. hid his face and told his dad that he didn’t want to tell me.  Hmm.

So my husband was forced to give me the grusome details.  It seems that SOMEONE was so busy playing his mindless video games that he actually didn’t stop to go to the bathroom and shit his pants.  Now, please keep in mind that this kid has been potty-trained for two years now, and even in the thick of training he NEVER had an accident.  Never, not once.  But because his little mind was SO engrossed in this stupid video game, my lazy son just sat there and continued moving bricks while he soiled his pants.  And didn’t tell anyone until the other kids noticed the smell!  I don’t even know what to do with information like that; I mean, I like to read books but you don’t see me peeing my pants over them!  I like to watch T.V. but I do manage to take a shit ON THE TOILET every once in a while.

So needless to say, C. received a serious talk about his gaming addiction and how we as parents were going to have to regulate the amount of time he spent playing it.  He’s not allowed to even touch the tablet for the next couple of days, and after that he will be alloted a half hour of game time before bed… IF he has behaved himself the rest of the day.  Geez.  I can’t believe I have to have a conversation with my five year old about putting aside your stuff and visiting the bathroom. 

C. is more interested in the doughnuts he gets after his addiction meetings, but I think he’s getting better.  One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

