Bits

Standard

The other day I had to take a floaty fish out of the fish tank at work.  When I plopped him into the toilet, he suddenly flipped around and spit something out of his mouth, staring at me with his fishy eye, but I had already flushed and he went spinning down into the sewer anyway.  I feel like this is some kind of metaphor for the way my life is going lately, but I’m not sure exactly what it means.

Yesterday I went to a new doctor and vomitted a lifetime of stuff onto her desk while a frightened psychology student looked on.  Sometimes I have the tendency to sugarcoat things so this time I was determined to tell the whole truth and nothing but the truth.  At one point the doctor knocked over a full water bottle and soaked my paperwork; at the end of the session she told me that I “need to get my stress under control.”  Then she added, “You seem to have a lot of stressors in your life.  I know this is easier said than done, but you have to try and work some of this stuff out.”  The student half smiled at me.  I wanted to punch the doctor in the face and ask her if she could solve all my problems but I needed that prescription so I fake smiled back and exited the office, stress still weighing me down so heavily that I had to shuffle.

I stood in the grocery store and had to decide if I should get what I really wanted for LUNCH, or get what I really wanted for dinner, because I couldn’t afford both.  I asked my husand and he told me that all of the things I want to cook have too many ingredients in them.  I wanted to smack him in the face; who says that?  Of course things have ingredients in them!  Then I picked what I wanted for lunch and decided to have ice cream for dinner, anyway.

Leave a Reply

