Why?

Standard

Why do I blog?  As I get a *couple* of readers (Hi everyone!  Love ya!)  I’ve been thinking a lot about it, and why I continued to blog as long as I did when I was just writing to the great expanse of nothing that is the web.  I think that the first thing that attracted me was the sense of community; I love the fact that there are all these women and men out there, just on the other side of their computer screens, who are rooting for me, or judging me, whatever, but CARING about my life and what I have to say about it.  That’s just amazing to me, and makes the world a lot smaller of a place.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer.  When I was in the third grade, I had a wonderful teacher who totally encouraged my flair for writing, and that same year I won a school wide essay contest and was chosen out of the whole school to read at an assembly.  I thought I would burst with pride.  I continued to write as I grew up, always keeping a diary or a journal, and typing out stories on my parent’s old Brother typewriter.  I always wrote all my friend’s English assignments and always got A’s.  In college, everyone told me to major in creative writing, but Hello?  I already KNEW how to do that, and just to prove it I took a class and aced it.  I wish that I would have listened, but I was in COLLEGE, you guys, and I knew everything. 

I continued to keep a journal after college, and would occasionally write a short story or poem.  But no one ever read anything, and it kind of went by the wayside for a while.  Then one day, on a very sloooow day at the office where I worked, I happened to stumble upon a blog.  I can’t remember which one I discovered first, but I have to say that it was Dooce or Amalah, and I was immediately hooked.  I am a voracious reader, and nosy to boot, so blogs were right up my alley.  I loved the fact that it was almost like I was reading someone’s diary, and I discovered so many truly gifted writers out there.  When I had Cole, it was even better because I didn’t feel like I was doing this mom thing alone.  Anything that I felt, someone else had felt before, and made me feel okay about it.  It was comforting to know that I was a part of this pack, this group of mom’s who all made no bones about the fact that they didn’t know what they were doing either but we would muddle through together. 

I started my blog Little Bits of Pixie Dust in 2005, over at Blogger.  I had a couple readers in the very beginning, and then for a long time no one read anything.  Many times I thought about pressing the delete button, but I just knew that SOMEDAY, someone out there might want to read my words, and besides, it was kind of like a baby book of Cole’s infanthood and I didn’t want to lose that.  So I kept writing, but just recently got really into it, trying to promote my blog to others and making comments on lots of blogs that I’ve long admired and read.  I switched to WordPress.  And I have to say, I am just thrilled to be a part of this blogging thing, truly.  I feel like I’ve made some friends, and if I ever go to Australia there is actually someone there that I could have a cup of coffee with!  It still blows my mind.

I’m so glad to be a part of this community, no matter how big or small my readership ever gets.  I hope to continue to blog for a long time coming!   

Leave a Reply

