Roses

Standard

Last night on the way home I told Cole that since today was my birthday he had to let me watch T.V. all day. Once I convinced him I was joking and staving off the inevitable kept down, he grew thoughtful.
“Mommy?” said a plaintive voice from the backseat. “I wish I could get you something better for your birthday.”
“All I want, baby, is to be with you and Daddy. That’s my best present.”
“No,” he said,”l want to get you something REAL. You should get flowers- roses! Yeah Mommy, I’m gonna get you roses.”
I had to pick my heart off the floor. Sometimes he says things and I just can’t. He is the only rose I’ll ever need.

One response »

Leave a Reply

