Thanks

Standard

First of all I wanted to thank those that left such kind comments; I can’t begin to describe how much it means to me to have people on my side, I feel like I don’t have a lot of that so when it happens it’s a big deal. I made the decision to not go to my mom’s today for Thanksgiving.  It was a hard one; I’ve never spent a holiday away from that side of the family before.  But I want to be with my husband and my son and I want us all to be together, so that’s what I did.  I have to admit, though, I took the cowardly way out and texted her instead of actually calling.  I also have not gotten a text message back, so I guess that tells me what she thought of that.  I’m sure I’ll hear all about it and how upset she is, but today I refuse to be negative. I’m going to enjoy a holiday where I don’t have to be rushing around and where I can be with my ENTIRE family, including Adam.

And in the spirit of things, I really do have a lot to be thankful for.  First and foremost, I’m thankful for Adam’s aunt and uncle, because without them I wouldn’t be in this warm house, have a full stomach and the promise of food later, or even know where my baby was going to sleep tonight.  Words couldn’t express how thankful I am for that, truly.  I’m thankful that my husband is here with me today and not in jail, or even just away from us.  I’m grateful that I have a wonderful little boy whom I watched the parade with this morning, a little boy who waved so hard at the television when Santa came on, SURE that he could really see him through the magic of the screen.  I never knew how much a warm place to stay meant until I almost didn’t have one.  So yeah, we’ve been through a lot of shit this year but the main thing is that we are all together and happy, we made it, and it will only make us stronger as a family. 

Family.  That’s what I’m the most thankful for this year; I don’t know where I would be without them. 

Leave a Reply

