Weird Things

Standard

Things continue to be interesting in our current living situation.  For those of you who don’t know, we (my husband, son and I) are staying with my husband’s aunt and uncle and my mother in law.  The aunt and uncle stay upstairs and my MIL has the (finished) basement.  Hopefully, this is a VERY temporary situation, but until we can save up enough money to put a deposit on a new place, this is where we are.  Here are the things that I find weird or irritating, and please, I’m not judging, it’s just that I’m not used to having to live this teenager-ish lifestyle after having been on my own for over twelve years.

  • The aunt has a weird thing about locking doors, as in she doesn’t trust anyone else to do it.  That means if I go out I have to be home by like 9:00, because she will stay awake until everyone is in the house and accounted for and that makes me feel guilty so yes, at 33 years of age I have a 9:00 curfew.
  • I offer to help, like cleaning up after dinner or helping unload groceries or do some laundry or SOMETHING, and am always refused.  However, I know for a fact that my MIL thinks I am the most lazy person in the world.  Hmmm…
  • There is always someone WATCHING.  The other night, in a fit of desperation, Adam and I escaped to the car to try and have a private conversation.  The entire time we sat there, I could see the curtains twitching and the uncle’s hand on the drapes.  Also, I know for a fact that the other night while we were having an argument, my MIL actually OPENED THE DOOR where we were to listen more closely.
  • And that’s another thing; the lack of privacy is just unbelievable.  I mean, I can’t even whisper without someone listening.  Adam and I have taken to writing each other notes so as not to be overheard, and it’s not like we’re even talking about anything interesting, it’s the principle.
  • Dinner is at 6 every night, and God help you if you are not present.  Except for those times when it’s not 6, but no one will let you know and you will just sit and starve until the dinner that you are not allowed to help prepare is ready. 
  • Do not talk to the uncle while the T.V. is on.  Just don’t.  He will never answer you and you will be left with your sentence hanging in the air, looking stupid.

I feel that I have to preface all this by saying I am extremely grateful to have a place to stay while we are in this transition.  I feel guilty when I complain but like I said, it is really hard to live with someone else, and I’m living with three other someone else’s.  And this is what’s going on in my life so I need to write about it.

Leave a Reply

