I Can!

Standard

My whole life people have been telling me what I CAN’T do.  Some examples that come to mind:

When I told my family that I was going to apply to be a waitress, the laughter and guffaws could be heard for miles.  I was told I was way too lazy to wait on people, I would drop trays all over the restaurant, I would cry and get my feelings hurt… the list went on and on.  I went on to be a waitress for about five years.

When I told people that I would take a year off school and then go back, they scoffed.  No one ever goes back, I was told.  You’ll find a full time job and you’ll be making money and you’ll never want to go back.  I worked for a year, reapplied to college, and went back for another two years.

When I told people that I was going to be a home health aide, again, the laughter.  I was told it was way too gross of a job for me, I would hate it, people are mean, etc.  And guess what?  They were right, all except for the me not being able to do it part.  I was puked, pooped, and spit on.  I was yelled at and accused of any number of ridiculous things.  But I was a home health aide for about four years.

Now a new job has come up at my place of employment, and I would really, really like to get it.  People have told me that I am not right for the job, I won’t like it, I’m used to sitting behind a desk… but I still applied yesterday.  I’m hoping that whoever interviews me has as much faith in my ability to do a good job as I am, because I really think I would be damn good at this position. And if I don’t get it, well, I’ll know it’s not because I CAN’T do it.  No matter what people say!    

Leave a Reply

