Broke, Broker, Brokest

Standard

No one ever wants to talk about money, or lack thereof. However, it’s something that most of us think about, probably a lot. At least, I know I do. We are a family that lives paycheck to paycheck, and sometimes not even that. We don’t have credit cards, because that’s just a bad trap to fall into and we don’t really qualify for any that would help us out at all anyway. Both my husband and I work full time jobs and still come up short.

Broke is using the same damn picture frames for seven years because you just can’t justify buying new ones (I’m thinking of this because I hung some pictures yesterday, and then last night while we were watching TV the glass fell out of one of the frames and came down on our heads). Broke is driving around in a car with over 250,000 miles on it, a car that has sometimes questionable brakes. Broke is sometimes picking things up in the employee cafeteria at work, because you can put it on your employee badge and have it taken directly out of your paycheck. Broke is never having extra, struggling to pay for groceries and your basic utilities. Broke is not having a computer at home, so you have to risk getting in trouble and write your blog posts at work. I think our biggest “extra” is cable, and dude, if you can’t afford to do anything that requires leaving your house, you have to have SOMETHING!!

Summer isn’t so bad because you can go for a walk, you can go to the park, and going swimming isn’t terribly expensive. We try to get a festival or a fair in there every so often, too.

We are not DESTITUTE, we are SURVIVING, some days I would even say THRIVING, but it IS difficult to live paycheck to paycheck. I would love to have money for those little extras, or not have to worry about every single cent that leaves my pocket. I don’t want anyone thinking that we are just dying over here, because we’re not. I’m just saying what lots of people go through everyday, and it’s a struggle.

*Donations are accepted and appreciated.* <—— Sarcasm!!

3 responses »

    • The brakes are fixed as of right now, luckily my husband is really handy with the car stuff. But really, our car is so old that it just needs so much work done, it’s not worth it to fix because it would cost more than the car is worth.
      Ooh, $10,000… first I would pay off a bunch of bills, then I would get a new (to me) car, a new couch, and if there was anything left over I would take the family to the beach!! How about you?

  1. See! You spent ALL the money! Just like that ……….gone! Can’t you get like a Kia or something for a REALLY low monthly payment? Just trying to help 🙂

Leave a Reply

