Dancing with his Crush

Standard

He sends me a video, entitled “Crushing.” It is my beautiful boy, dancing with a little sprite who has long dark and shining hair cascading down her back. They jump, spin and leap, joy evident in both of their eyes. He twirls her, a patented move I recognize from our own living room dance party. Their smiles shine out from my computer screen, perfect in every way.

When my life seems to be coming apart at the seams, when I feel like I just can’t put one foot in front of the other anymore, I need to remember this. My son, who always takes time for dancing. I need to take time out for dancing, for twirling, for pure joy.

At the very end of the video, the happy couple exits stage left. In the corner of my screen, they come together and wrap their arms around each other. As I watch, tears pricking my eyes, he gives her a perfect, innocent kiss on the cheek.

Always take time for dancing. Always.

 

 

Leave a Reply

